2017 Family Allergy Update

It’s been seven months since I last published anything, life seems to have got away from me in places.

Life is going well for our family, everyone is growing up, my youngest daughter is now 5 and in school full time, my eldest is 7 and is becoming more independent.

Most recently she went on a 3 day residential trip with the school which was mentally exhausting for me, but she had the time of her life.  I didn’t sleep for 2 weeks before she left and was awake every night whilst she was gone worrying about what she ate and if they were managing her medication.

We have had some progress (?) on the allergy front, after having no allergist appointment for 16 months due to the previous person retiring we got to see a new doctor.  She was very thorough and ordered some blood tests, which we haven’t had since A was 6 months old (and then they only tested for milk allergy).  The doctor was very ambitious and after taking A‘s medical history tested for

  • Milk
  • Egg white
  • Egg yolk
  • Cats (in error as I said A was allergic to dogs)
  • Tree pollen
  • Grass pollen
  • Dust Mites
  • Pineapple

I imagined A only had IgE allergies to milk and one of the pollens, but I was very surprised when her results came back as positive to everything – including a weak positive to pineapple (strange but intriguing).

allergy-test-results.jpg

So in order of severity

  • Grass Pollen and House Dust Mites
  • Milk
  • Egg White
  • Tree Pollen
  • Cat Dander
  • Egg Yolk
  • Pineapple

The doctor advised in the accompanying letter that the majority of the allergies are between Grade 5 and 6 and the triggers are to be strictly avoided.  They consider a negative result to be between 0.00 – 0.34 kU/L.

This explain why we have such a bad time in the Summer with worsening of asthma and eczema.  We have seen our GP, increased the strength of the preventer inhalers, got a new antihistamine and bought an air purifier – which I think is great and has stopped that pesky nightime asthma/hayfever cough.

So I have lots to learn this year, how to improve hayfever symptoms, what I can do about a dust mite allergy and add another unusual allergy – pineapple – to my posts… let me know about your unusual allergies.  The ones I have so far are…

Poultry —  Potatoes —  Honey

This entry was posted in Asthma, Eczema, Food Allergy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

